Skip to main content

The U.S. Intelligence Community

The U.S. Intelligence Community (IC) consists of 16 agencies/organizations and one overarching entity, the Office of the Director of National Intelligence, within the executive branch. They work both independently and collaboratively to gather the intelligence necessary to conduct foreign relations and national security activities. Their primary mission is to collect and convey the essential information the President and members of the policymaking, law enforcement, and military communities require to execute their appointed duties. 

Today intelligence is used for many purposes. Besides the traditional tracking of foreign military capabilities and scrutiny of foreign government intentions, intelligence is used for the "new problem set of the twenty first century - nuclear proliferation, terrorism, failing states, cyber threats, global warming, and the international economic reshuffle." Intelligence thus supports national security planning, diplomacy, homeland security, and enforcement of our laws. View career opportunities at

Click here for additional information on IC Members.




Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/